In Good Company: Rosanna Henderson

In Good Company: Rosanna Henderson

Rosanna Henderson is a Mosaic and Fused Glass artist, creating vibrant, original, and affordable artwork for indoor and outdoor spaces, often combining the two art forms to unique effect. She discovered her creative side a bit later in life, having worked as a Personnel Manager for a multinational film distributor. She now runs ‘Rosanna’s Mosaics’.

At what stage in your life did you move to Ealing?

I was born and bred in Northolt. In my early twenties, I did a stint of living in Central London, where I met my husband-to-be. Once together, we moved back to Ealing and since 1984 have been living on the Brentham Garden Suburb. It is a delightful arts and craft estate with a real community feel to it.

Grapes and Ivy

If you were telling someone about Ealing who had never visited, how would you describe it?

Ealing is a vibrant and diverse Borough with activities and facilities for all ages. There is an abundance of parks and open spaces; it is a very green and leafy Borough. Home of the Ealing Comedies, it is rich in culture with cinemas, a theatre, festivals, an art trail, Open Ealing. There is stunning architecture to be found not only on Brentham but also at the Town Hall, Hoover Building, Pitzhanger Manor, Gunnersbury Museum, and St. Mary’s Church. There is a great transport system with fast links to central London and the surrounding outer areas. The road networks are great with easy access to major roads and motorways. Local health professionals are excellent, and I have been with the same doctor, dentist, optician, and vet for several years.

Greek Island – this was commissioned by and hangs in Atlantis restaurant

Do you have a favourite Ealing independent?

I am a regular at Atlantis on Pitshanger Lane, which is a lovely family-run Greek restaurant. Tony is always very friendly and welcoming and offers delicious food at reasonable prices. I also like The Rose and Crown, Broneks Fish Restaurant, Butlers Thai, Kanenas, and I am pleased we have some of the better chains like Cote and Comptoir Libanais. I really enjoy getting lunch from the Beehive and sitting on Ealing Green when the weather improves. Pitshanger Lane is lovely for local shopping. It has a butcher, fishmonger, deli, greengrocer, bakers, chemists, dry cleaners, shoe repairer, furniture shop, as well as 3 convenient stores, a Post Office, and a community library. There are several restaurants, numerous coffee shops, and 2 pubs. Pitshanger Book Shop is a favorite, and Fiona is great at recommending books and often has special book reading events featuring local authors. Favorite cafes include Cinnamon on Pitshanger Lane, Pulp in South Ealing, Papillon in Northfields, Clocktower and Momentum both in Hanwell, Scone and Bean in Lammas Park, and when we are in Gunnersbury Park, we always get coffee and cake from the mobile stall there. Allbright in Northfields cuts mirror for my mosaic bases. I am a regular at B&Q and Wicks for my mosaic boards, frames, etc., and The Works and Hobbycraft are handy for bits and bobs.

Is there a part of Ealing that you find particularly inspirational or where you find peace?

I love being outside, which is where I get a lot of my inspiration. As a keen walker, I am often in Pitshanger, Lammas, Blondin, Gunnersbury, or the Bunny Park as well as Fox Wood, Horsenden Hill, and many other open areas dotted around the borough. As a cyclist, there are plenty of off-road tracks enabling easy access to the Grand Union Canal, River Brent, both leading to the Thames or into central London. We are also now able to go on the Elizabeth Line out further to places like Slough (for Windsor) Burnham and Maidenhead then cycle home. I am also a regular swimmer at Acton Pool and Eden Fitness centre.

Marple Mosaic

Tell us what you are up to and what is next for you

2024 is already shaping up to be a busy year creatively. I will be taking part in BEAT (Borough of Ealing Art Trail) for the 8th time in September. I have just been accepted to exhibit at Kew Green Fete in June, and this month I will have my work displayed in the Clock Tower and Momentum cafes – both in Hanwell. I have a small, ongoing exhibition at the Brentham Club, and a large amount of my work features in the Tower House Gallery in Northumberland. I have also applied to take part in another high-end exhibition and am waiting with fingers crossed to hear if I have been accepted. A key aim for this year is to get my work into a high-end gallery. A longer-term ambition is to have my work as part of a show garden at RHS Chelsea Flower Show. I have twice taken part at RHS Hampton Court Garden Show where I did the artwork for Ascott Allotments – which won Best Community Garden! So, as I am already an RHS winner, Chelsea is the next goal. I work a lot to commission and currently have 2 pieces to complete in my home-based studio. I can usually make a beautiful piece for someone within their budget so am always happy to chat through ideas. My work can be seen at www.rosannasmosaics.com and on Instagram and Facebook as ‘rosannasmosaics’.